Call for Works

Conservatorio S. Cecilia of Rome presents the 8th edition of EMUFest
(International Electroacoustic Music Festival)

The festival will take place from the 21st to the 26th of September 2015.

Works will have to fall within one of the following three categories or combinations:

  1. Acousmatic works:
    compositions for recorded-only sounds (synthesised or/and concrete), from one to eight channels.
  2. Audiovisual compositions:
    recorded audiovisual works where video and audio have the same artistic relevance.
  3. Live performances with electronics:
    works with acoustic instruments and live electronics and/or recorded audio; performances of live electronics only.

Each author can submit only one work.

Submission and registration to EMUFest will be complete by filling out all the required information in the on line submission form and uploading all the required materials, necessary to the committee.

The registration form will not be available after 23:59 am CEST on May 31st June 15th, 2015.

The selected works will be announced by June 15th June 25, 2015.

Choices will be made exclusively based on representativeness of the international situation of electroacoustic music and upon the feasibility connected to the Festival’s program.

Submissions must include a complete description of the technical set-up needed and instrumental techniques for the performance and, depending on the category, it must also include:

  1. Acousmatic works:
    • version from 1 to 8 channels on data file with separate or interleaved tracks in WAV or AIFF format with 16 or 24 bit rate and 44100 Hz sampling rate.
  2. Audiovisual compositions:
    • HD video with a minimum resolution of 1080p.
  3. Live performances with electronics:
    • score and parts in PDF format;
    • audio file (MP3, WAV or AIF format) with a complete recording of the work, if existing;
    • if pre-existing audio is needed, audio file with separate or interleaved tracks in WAV or AIFF format with 16 or 24 bit rate and 44100 Hz sampling rate;
    • live electronics works submitted without all software components for the functioning of the work will be discarded.

For “Category 3” the conservatory will provide performers chosen amongst its faculty and selected graduate students. Technical performers will be chosen among the students of the Electronic Music department. Should authors decide to use external performers they will have to bear all accommodation and travel costs, as well as any further expenses.

For the instrumental ensemble a maximum of 7 performers might be chosen from the following:

  • 2 voices (soprano e mezzo soprano)
  • violin, viola, cello, double bass
  • 2 flutes (C and / or G)
  • oboe
  • clarinet (cl. in Bb and bass cl.)
  • bassoon
  • 4 saxophones (soprano, alto, tenor, baritone)
  • percussion (max 2 percussionists)
  • electric and 2 classical guitars
  • piano
  • liturgic organ

All the required material must be sent by compiling the online submission form.


Information email contact:
Other contacts

Further information about the EMUFest will be published on